Course Content

  • 1.evidence01
  • Pcap_1

Course Content


One of the many valuable tools we may use to combat cybersecurity risks is the Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) concept. This long-standing standard divides a network into seven layers and provides recommendations for safeguarding each.

The most prevalent forms of application/network security are Layer 3, also known as the Network layer, and Layer 4, also known as the Transport layer. Firewalls and router Access Control Lists (ACLs) can be found in these tiers.

The transfer of bits — the 1s and 0s that make up all computer code — is handled by the Physical layer of the OSI model. This layer depicts the physical media that transports data between two nodes. Consider your Ethernet or Serial cable as an example.

The Layer of Humans:

  • These human management controls are designed to safeguard the information that is most important to a company's security. This encompasses the very real threat posed by individuals, cyber attacks, and malicious users to a company.
#BBD0E0 »

To help you remember the levels of the OSI model, below are some mnemonic phrases: "Please Do Not Throw Away Salami Pizza" – this works for both bottom-to-top and top-to-bottom. If you don't like salami pizza, then how about seafood or spinach pizza instead?

Recommended Courses

Share With Friend

Have a friend to whom you would want to share this course?

Download LearnVern App

App Preview Image
App QR Code Image
Code Scan or Download the app
Google Play Store
Apple App Store
598K+ Downloads
App Download Section Circle 1
4.57 Avg. Ratings
App Download Section Circle 2
15K+ Reviews
App Download Section Circle 3
  • Learn anywhere on the go
  • Get regular updates about your enrolled or new courses
  • Share content with your friends
  • Evaluate your progress through practice tests
  • No internet connection needed
  • Enroll for the webinar and join at the time of the webinar from anywhere